Reviews

9.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
8.9
Property location
9.5
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.5
Value
8.7

Reviews

    Chris
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    23 May 2018
    Dinner was very very very traditional Japanese. 14 different dishes. In the main we had no idea what we were eating and no-one could speak enough English to explain. Quite seriously this food is an acquired taste and we did not acquire it.
    Japanese style accommodation. Sleeping on the floor and sitting on low seats. Something a bit different, although good for a novelty visit, not for a longer stay. Location was excellent. Everything needed was close by.
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    18 May 2018
    The hotel was really good, the owners were nice and the room was very clean. We loved the tea provided in the room, it was delicious!
    Margaret
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    17 May 2018
    Location, so close to Zenkoji. Dietary requests were taken into acount. Cheerful staff.
    ch

    Review score

    9.2
    13 May 2018

    Great choice with an amazing location, warm, welcoming and very affordable !

    Jack
    au

    Review score

    10
    9 May 2018

    Fantastic position, excellent ryokan.

    Traditional hospitality, the staff were warm and helpful. The food and presentation was excellent.
    Deborah
    au

    Review score

    10
    8 May 2018

    My partner loved staying here, great Japanese experience

    Nothing
    We were right at the entrance to Zenkō-Ji Temple and gardens. Stores lined the street outside.
    Angelika
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    4 May 2018

    Be careful what you wish for

    Whilst keen to experience sleeping on the floor on futons - three nights were two too many for my poor body. After hours of walking around the sights of Negano I would have welcomed a bed to relax on or even a chair to sit on. Lying on the floor with my head resting on the rolled up bedding is not the same. It’s a long way down and an even longer way up. Also five minutes before your allocated breakfast time staff would knock on your door to remind you to come down for breakfast. This made me feel somewhat rushed and uncomfortable
    A place to experience the traditional nature of a Ryokan. The breakfasts were extensive and interesting. The dinner was traditional and offered a huge array of dishes - some of which, like the raw squid posed a challenge to my western concept of edibles. The Ryokan itself is beautiful and within the temple precinct. Quiet and peaceful in the evenings and within easy walking distance to restaurants and busses.
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    30 April 2018
    The traditional breakfast was amazing.
    william
    au

    Review score

    7.5
    29 April 2018

    Good location and easy bus ride from train station.

    Greg Barrett
    au

    Review score

    10
    28 April 2018

    Beautiful

    Limited English spoken
    Beautiful building, great location, excellent food, kind staff.
    Louise
    gb

    Review score

    10
    28 April 2018

    Fantastic place would definitely recommend

    The shared bathroom is only for use in the evenings. However if you ask the staff you can have a shower in the mornings too, so it is not really a problem
    Friendly staff and amazing location
    VelocityNZ
    nz

    Review score

    9.6
    27 April 2018

    Superb - great experience in a stand out area - recommended.

    Nothing!
    What an awesome place to stay, lovely and friendly staff, in a fanatstic location and very comfy. The team were great in responding to our questions ahead of our visit - very helpful seeing we had not been to Nagano before.
    Christine
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    22 April 2018

    A great place to stay to see the old town and temple. A true Japanese ryokan

    The tatami May bedding on the floor was fairly thin and not very comfortable
    Fantastic location and wonderful staff
    Susie Q
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    20 April 2018

    Ok if you are a smoker!

    As non smokers this Ryokan is a non starter. We woke at 12 midnight with a very strong smell of cigarette smoke in our room. It was revolting and we found it difficult to sleep as we could not throw a window open. In the morning, on leaving, the whole of our floor smelt of cigarette smoke.
    Location of Ryokan and comfortable futon.
    Allan
    us

    Review score

    10
    13 May 2018

    Put on your Yukata, drink the tea, eat the amazing food, enjoy the baths...disconnect

    Honestly this place exceeded my expectations. Is it five star? No... but it’s good and clean with five star food and a great staff.
    Very friendly staff, great location in a quiet and beautiful part of town. I walked to the train every day. It’s just over a mile down a beautiful street lined with shops. Traditional room was good sized and comfortable. Bath area was small but clean and just what I needed each day after exploring the area. Nagano is a beautiful area ..I did the Alpine Route to Toyama and the Monkey Park and used this as a base to rest. Get their Breakast and dinner you can!(remember to be a few minutes early to your seating) Unbeleavable value! Don’t speak Japanese? Don’t worry they speak enough English it’s fine.
    Napon Vana
    th

    Review score

    10
    12 May 2018

    Peaceful stay in Nagano

    -The staff were very kind -The rooms were clean -Located right next to the temple
    us

    Review score

    10
    11 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Michael
    us

    Review score

    10
    6 May 2018

    Fantastic staff (treat you like family), food, location.

    Nothing!
    Everything!
    Sheena
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    4 May 2018

    Pleasant

    The Japanese breakfast and the staffs were very courteous
    200/night is too expensive for this hotel.
    Adriano
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    1 May 2018
    Amazing food and very friendly staff
Loading reviews